History of King Cyrus Grand Chapter

King Cyrus Grand Chapter was established on February 10th, 1873 when representatives from Jerusalem Chapter No. 4, Eureka Chapter No. 6 and Adeniah Chapter No. 7 met in the city of Alexandria at the Odd Fellows’ and Masons’ Hall located on Columbus Street for the purpose of organizing a Grand Royal Arch Chapter in the State of Virginia.

The following article was published in the Alexandria Gazette (12 February 1873) and republished by the Daily Dispatch (14 February 1873) newspapers:

Colored Masons. – The past officers of the subordinate chapters of colored Royal Arch Masons in the State met in this city on the 10th instant for the purpose of instituting a Grand Royal Arch Chapter of the State of Virginia, to be located in this city.  Representatives were present from Jerusalem Chapter No. 4, and Eureka Chapter No. 6, of Alexandria, and Adeniah Chapter No. 7, of Richmond.  William Triplett was called to the chair, and Lewis Hurley was appointed secretary.  The object of the meeting was effected and the following officers were elected:  William Triplett, Grand High Priest; John Montgomery, Deputy Grand High Priest; Lewis Cartter, Grand King; and David Jones, Grand Scribe.

The Grand Chapter held its first session on December 11th, 1873 in the city of Alexandria.  During this session a warrant was granted to Keystone Chapter No. 4 of Petersburg.  The session adjourned after the following officers were elected for the ensuing year:

Grand High Priest – John B.  Montgomery of Alexandria

Deputy Grand High Priest – Lewis H. Carter of Richmond

Grand King – Sandy Gordon of Alexandria

Grand Scribe – J. H. Cox of Richmond

Grand Secretary – Henry Marshall

Grand Treasurer – H. S. King

Grand Captain of Host – Robert Smith

Grand Principal Sojourner – J. H. Marshall

Grand Royal Arch Captain – E. S. Stalks

Grand M1V – J. D. Brown

Grand M2V – E. S. Dabner

Grand M3V – H. Woodson

Grand Chaplain – Rev. T. Davis

Grand Sentinel – S. Bolden